1. Objectives of the Program

The Ph.D. (Meteorology) Program aims to provide students with advanced graduate education in meteorology that will prepare them for top-level scientific careers in government, academic and research institution. The program envisions to produce highly qualified meteorologists capable of pursuing independent research in various fields of specialization in meteorology.

2. Admission into the Program

Admission into the Ph.D. (Meteorology) Program requires a Bachelor of Science or an M.S. (Meteorology or Physical Oceanography) degree from a recognized institution of higher learning. Applicants must have strong background in physics and mathematics and must possess a very high degree of intellectual capacity and aptitude for advanced study and research. Other admission requirements are listed in the College of Science Guidelines for Graduate Programs.

3. General Requirements of the Program

Qualification for Ph.D. (Meteorology) degree requires the following:
(a) Completion of a Program of Study consisting of at least forty-five (45) units of formal graduate courses in the case of students admitted into the Ph.D. Program with only a B.S. degree and of at least twenty-four (24) units of formal graduate courses in the case of students admitted into the Program with a M.S. (Meteorology). Other M.S. degree holders are required to complete at least thirty-nine (39) units of formal graduate courses;
(b) Maintenance of cumulative weighted average grade of “1.75” or better at the end of each academic year until completion of the Program of Study;
(c) Passing the Preliminary Examination based on the core courses of the Program of Study;
(d) Passing the Candidacy Examination after completion of at least two-thirds (2/3) of the student’s Program of Study;
(e) Completion of a Doctoral Dissertation based on an independent and original research;
(f) Completion of a graduate seminar course during the student’s course work and presentation of a yearly seminar report during the student’s dissertation work;
(g) Successful defense of the Doctoral Dissertation in a public Doctoral Examination;
(h) Submission of a scientific preprint based on the approved Doctoral Dissertation and endorsed by the Dissertation Committee as an acceptable article for publication in a reputable scientific journal; and
(i) Submission of at least six (6) bound and certified copies of the approved Doctoral Dissertation.

4. Core Courses

  • Meteor 201: Synoptic Meteorology (3 units)
  • Meteor 202: Synoptic Meteorology Practicum (3 units)
  • Meteor 210: Geophysical Fluid Dynamics (3 units)
  • Meteor 213: Climatology (3 units)
  • Meteor 221: Physical Meteorology (3 units)
  • Meteor 232: Dynamic Meteorology (3 units)
  • Meteor 233: Advanced Dynamic Meteorology (3 units)